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(Refer to Federal Publication 15 for questions concerning 
gross taxable income or federal withholding tax.)

1.	Gross Income — Determine the employee’s total 
wages for the payroll period. Multiply this amount 
by the number of payroll periods you have in a year. 
The result is the employee’s annual wage. (Multiply 
by: 260 if you pay daily, 52 if you pay weekly, 26 if 
you pay bi-weekly, 24 if you pay semi-monthly, or 12 
if you pay monthly.)

	 Note: If the employee has supplemental or overtime 
pay, see the withholding procedures outlined below.

2.	Standard Deduction (annual amounts) 
	 Single: $12,000 
	 Married and Spouse Works: $12,000 
	 Married and Spouse Does Not Work (this is 

determined by the check box on Form MO W-4, Line 
2, and is not a separate filing status): $24,000

	 Head of Household: $18,000  

3.	Estimated Federal Income Tax — Determine the 
employee’s total wages for the payroll period. Multiply 
this amount by the number of payroll periods you have 
in a year. The result is the employee’s annual wage. 
(Multiply by: 260 if you pay daily, 52 if you pay weekly, 
26 if you pay bi-weekly, 24 if you pay semi-monthly, 
or 12 if you pay monthly.) Subtract the standard  
deduction as shown in number 2 above and 
the number of federal allowances claimed  
multiplied by $4,150. This is the employee’s estimated 
federal taxable income. Determine the estimated 
federal income tax by using the federal income tax  
withholding table or brackets for the annual payroll 
period. The result is the employee’s annual estimated 
federal income tax. An individual’s federal income tax 
deduction is limited to $5,000 ($10,000 if a combined 
return). These limitations should be applied on an 
aggregate basis. (Multiply by: 260 if you pay daily, 52 if 
you pay weekly, 26 if you pay bi-weekly, 24 if you pay  
semi-monthly, or 12 if you pay monthly.)

2018 Missouri Withholding Tax Formula
	 Note: The maximum federal income tax deduction 

for a married filer, spouse not working, is $10,000. If 
the spouse is working, the maximum limit should be 
calculated using $5,000.

	 Determine if the spouse is working by the check 
boxes on Form MO W-4, Line 2.

4.	Missouri Taxable Income — Subtract the total 
annual amounts of numbers 2 and 3 from the total 
annual gross income of number 1. The result is the 
employee’s Missouri taxable income.

Step 2
1.	Missouri Withholding Tax — Multiply the 

employee’s Missouri taxable income by the 
applicable annual payroll period rate. Begin at the 
lowest rate and accumulate the total withholding 
amount for each rate. The result is the employee’s 
annual Missouri withholding tax.

2.	Missouri Withholding Tax Per Payroll Period — 
Divide the employee’s annual Missouri withholding 
amount by: 260 if you pay daily, 52 if you pay 
weekly, 26 if you pay bi-weekly, 24 if you pay semi-
monthly, 12 if you pay monthly. The result is the 
employee’s Missouri withholding tax per pay period.

Rounding on Missouri Withholding Reports. You must 
round the amounts that you withhold from your 
employees to the nearest whole dollar. 

Visit 
https://mytax.mo.gov/rptp/portal/home/withholding-calculator 

to access our online withholding tax calculator.

As a result of the federal tax reform bill signed into law 
on December 22, 2017, the Department has adjusted the 
Missouri withholding calculations based on information 
provided by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). In the 
event the IRS makes any additional changes that affect 
these calculations, the Missouri Employer’s Guide (Form 
4282) will be updated.

Step 1—Using Annual Amounts

Supplemental Pay Withholding
If the employee has supplemental or overtime pay, and the payment is included with normal wages, apply the 
withholding formula to the total payment as if it was a regular payroll wage payment.

If the employee has supplemental or overtime pay and the overtime wages are paid separately from regular 
wages, you may withhold based upon one of the following two methods.

•  Withhold a flat percentage rate of 5.9 percent of the supplemental wages; or

• � Add the supplemental wages to the regular wages paid for the payroll period and apply the withholding 
formula to the total amount as if it was a regular payroll wage payment. Then subtract the tax already 
withheld from the regular wage payment and withhold the remaining tax from the supplemental payment.
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Weekly
Payroll

	 $	 0.00	 to	 $	 20.00
		  20.01	 to		  40.00
		  40.01	 to		  59.00
		  59.01	 to		  79.00
		  79.01	 to		  99.00
		  99.01	 to		  119.00
		  119.01	 to		  138.00
		  138.01	 to		  158.00
		  158.01	 to		  178.00

178.01 and over

Missouri Withholding Formula Example
Employee is married claiming two allowances
(spouse works)

	 Annual Gross Income	 $35,000.00

	 Annual Standard
		  Deduction	 – 12,000.00	� (annual standard)
				    ($24,000 ÷ 2 = $12,000)

	 *Estimated Federal 
		  Income Tax	 – 315.00

	 Missouri Taxable
		  Income	 $22,685.00

*See the calculation instructions on Page 16.

Rates

1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.0%
4.5%
5.0%
5.5%
5.9%

Daily
Payroll

	 $	 0.00	 to	 $	 4.00
		  4.01	 to 		  8.00
		  8.01	 to		  12.00
		  12.01	 to		  16.00
		  16.01	 to		  20.00
		  20.01	 to		  24.00
		  24.01	 to		  28.00
		  28.01	 to 		  32.00
		  32.01	 to		  36.00

36.01 and over

Bi-Weekly
Payroll

	$	 0.00	 to	 $	 40.00
		 40.01	 to		  79.00
		 79.01	 to		  119.00
		 119.01	 to		  158.00
		 158.01	 to		  198.00
		 198.01	 to		  237.00
		 237.01	 to		  277.00
		 277.01	 to		  316.00
		 316.01	 to		  356.00

356.01 and over

Semi-Monthly
Payroll

	 $	 0.00	 to	 $	 43.00
			  43.01	 to		  86.00
			  86.01	 to		  129.00
			 129.01	 to		  171.00
			 171.01	 to		  214.00
			 214.01	 to		  257.00
			 257.01	 to		  300.00
			 300.01	 to		  343.00
			 343.01	 to		  386.00
	 386.01 and over

Monthly
Payroll

	$	 0.00	 to	 $	 86.00
		 86.01	 to		  171.00
		 171.01	 to		  257.00
		 257.01	 to		  343.00
		 343.01	 to		  428.00
		 428.01	 to		  514.00
		 514.01	 to		  600.00
		 600.01	 to		  685.00
		 685.01	 to		  771.00
	 771.01 and over

Annual
 Payroll

	$	 0.00	 to 	  $1,028.00
		 1,028.01	 to 	 2,056.00
		 2,056.01	 to 	 3,084.00
		 3,084.01	 to 	 4,113.00
		 4,113.01	 to 	 5,141.00
		 5,141.01	 to 	 6,169.00
		 6,169.01	 to 	 7,197.00
		 7,197.01	 to 	 8,225.00
		 8,225.01	  to 	 9,253.00
	 9,253.01 and over

Note: By agreement between the employee and the employer, the employee may designate additional withholding per pay period if he 
or she expects to owe more than the amount withheld.  Additional amount of withholding may be claimed on Line 6, of the Employer’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form MO W-4).

Income Tax Withholding Percentage Tax

Tips
•  Make employees aware of their option to change or update their Form MO W-4.

•  If employees have overtime pay, use the appropriate formula for supplemental pay withholding.

• � If the employee is married, but spouse does not work, apply the full standard deduction and the total amount of 

federal tax using the $10,000 maximum limit.

Income Tax Withholding Percentage Table 
(Annual Payroll Period)

$	1,028.00	 x	 1.5%	=	 $	 15.00	 $		 22,685.00
	 1,028.00	 x	 2.0	 =		  21.00		  –	 9,253.00
	 1,028.00	 x	 2.5	 =		  26.00	 $	 	 13,432.00	 EXCESS
	 1,029.00	 x	 3.0	 =		  31.00		  x 	 5.9%
	 1,028.00	 x	 3.5	 =		  36.00	 $     	 792.49
	 1,028.00	 x	 4.0	 =		  41.00
	 1,028.00	 x	 4.5	 =		  46.00	 $		  792.49
	 1,028.00	 x	 5.0	 =		  51.00		  +	 324.00
	 1,028.00	 x	 5.5	 =	 	 57.00	 $	  	 1,116.49	� Annual
$	9,253.00				    $	324.00				    Missouri 
										          Withholding

	   $1,116.49 ÷ 12 = $93.00	  Monthly Missouri Withholding
		  (Rounded to the nearest  
		  whole dollar.)
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